And now for something completely different…

Tuesday, January 7th, 2014

I’ve always been interested in making music, but the universe has always conspired against me.
You see, I don’t have talent, I don’t have the patience to learn, and I get sidetracked way too easily. Those are personal flaws which I doubt I’ll ever get rid of.
20140107-220521.jpg
However, there is another thorn in my side, which I now can remove – Technology… And the solution – Technology.
To extrapolate, when I actually get the urge to mess around with music production, I just want it to work. I don’t want to boot up a computer, start a Digital audio workstation, launch a synth plugin etc etc. I just want to whip out a keyboard and get to it. This always got me down and eventually killed off my urge completely.
That was 10 years ago. 5 or so years ago I bought the Korg MS-20 Legacy Collection, which included a MIDI controller based on the original MS-20 (albeit smaller). This was awesome fun, but all the pre-work to get started was, as mentioned, too much for me to bother.

Now with modern technology, I’ve found a way to play my Korg MS-20 Legacy MIDI controller at almost any time, with minimal setup, and as such cut down on all the computey stuff that I so despise (I work with it 8 hours a day, so when I get home I don’t want to touch it more than I have to). The saviour is (of course?) Apple.

A few weeks back, I bought the iMS-20 app for the iPad, and after some googling found out that I could hook it up and control it with my old piece of hardware that’s been hiding in the attic. After a visit to eBay and a long wait for it to arrive from China, I got a China-brand iPad camera connection kit, plugged all the stuff in and it immediately worked! Funny thing is it doesn’t even require an external power supply, something that the official apple kit does.

20140107-220553.jpg

So…maybe now I can get some peace of mind and start playing some tunes. Maybe. Or I’ll drift off and paint figures instead. Anyways.

20140107-220616.jpg

It. Just. Works.

That’s all for now. Next time, I promise to show some new painted model.

I’ve always been interested in making music, but the universe has always conspired against me.
You see, I don’t have talent, I don’t have the patience to learn, and I get sidetracked way too easily. Those are personal flaws which I doubt I’ll ever get rid of.

Leave a Reply

