Display stuff in style, 8-bit style

Friday, April 11th, 2014

Warning, here be a bucket-load of pictures.

 

I know I mentioned a display board in my earlier posts, and after much (much) angst, I finally went through and did it. The big hurdle was to dare to go ahead and potentially ruin my Nintendo transport, which I’d spent quite some time and money to get. Anyways, a separate display board wouldn’t do, so I “manned up” and went ahead.

photo 1

First of all I dryfitted some bases (well, random 30,40 and 50mm stuff to act as bases) just to make sure everyone would actually fit. And as you can see, it is a pretty tight squeeze.

photo 2

I tore up random bits of cork to give the board some height and texture. Plus, I wanted every model to have its own “spot”, so I needed some height to be able to make good slots for the models. The back part of the display board needed to be slightly elevated, so that no model would be completely hidden if viewed from up front.

 

photo 3

Afterwards, I marked suitable places with a pencil and cut them out. Afterwards I sprayed the cork black (not shown) and glued the cork onto the lid of the Nintendo. This was the most nervous moments – No going back after this! The empty spot in the middle was left to build another height for Dreamer. Like a lil’ throne.

 

photo 4

As with everything in this project, I drenched it in transparent gel and left it to dry for a day and then….

photo 5

I covered it in even more gel. And again, building up a “twisted and muddy” look, since I wanted it to resemble some sort of dystopian dreamscape.

photo 1 (2)

I masked the bare spaces and gave it a good whirl with the black spray. Afterwards, I felt like a proper dunce, because I noticed I didn’t mask good enough and there were some random sputter of black paint on the lid amongst other places.

So goddamn stupid. After a good rubbing with sand paper, I think I got most of it though. Still bugs me I messed up this badly.

 

photo 2 (2)

Around here, it seems like I got sloppy with documentation, because obviously a lot was done between the above picture and the previous one. Anyways, I basecoated the entire thing in GW Scorched Brown, drybrushed it with a Raw Sienna paint from the local hobby store and literally drenched the whole thing in Devlan Mud. I love Devlan mud. Before drenching, I picked out the lil’ details as well – Mushroom, fallen star, block and Kong-barrels.

 

photo 3 (2)

At this point I felt pretty much done, but the board still felt a bit…flat, and boring.

 

photo 4 (2)

So I dabbed a few random flowers and grass tufts about, whipped out the gel again and goo’d the place up. The “rift” thingy I painted with bright green colors to try and emulate a depth to the goo, like it’s pouring out or something. To make the star a bit more morbid, I blooded it up to look as if it had fallen/slided and gotten all messed up. Yeah… Don’t ask.

I also globbed some blood into the power light hole – where it usually is a red diode that marks that the power is on, it’s now dripping blood – ingenious and slightly sociopathic, no!?

 

photo 5 (2)

After a day of drying, this is what it ended up looking like.

photo 3 (4)

Aaand the finished product.

I ended up going over the flowers with some washes, since they looked too bright and cheerful. I noticed during earlier experimentation that if you drench flowers in a bit of dark wash, it ends up looking really twisted and old. Good stuff.

 

photo 1 (3)

Everyone in position.

 

photo 5 (3)

Back

photo 1 (4)

Fate deck included!

photo 2 (4)

Poor guys, all tuckered out.

 

And finally, some random close-ups:

photo 3 (3)

photo 4 (3)

8 comments on “Display stuff in style, 8-bit style

  1. epidemedotcom says:

    If awesome had a style, it would look like this!

  2. epidemedotcom says:

    If awesome was an object, it would look like this!

  3. sho3box says:

    Legendary.

    A brilliant project and execution that I’d bow 100% finished. You can’t say that about many miniatures projects.

    • soundwave says:

      Thanks a bunch!
      I think I’ve become better at finishing miniatures projects over the years. I’d like to tell that to myself at least… Now I don’t know what to do next though. Repetitive droning of 2×23 cultists for wh40k? Not very tempting..

  4. Looks awesome and for the idea you deserve the Genius Award! Did you already bring it to a tournament or event? if so, what reactions did you get?

    • soundwave says:

      Thanks a lot! I just got back from a tournament (at Gothcon) and it was very well received! Placed 3rd in the tournament and won Best painted, so I’m proper chuffed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

