Pirahna plants

Monday, March 21st, 2016

  
I’m not even going to pretend that this project is going to end, I’m having way too much fun!

So far when I’ve brainstormed up models for my Dreamer crew I’ve mainly been going with “stuff that I can loosely fit/shoehorn in with the Nintendo theme”, and that’s what happened this time as well; namely Waldgeists. Apart from being pretty solid units, they have no particular synergy with Dreamer, game-wise, but who cares – they’re evil forest spirits, so obviously fit with hungry plants in pipes. Or something. It felt like a good idea at the time.

   

First up I scavenged some random material I had in mind – plastic pipes, wooden marbles and, of course, green stuff.

  

Next, I “draped” the marbles in green stuff to get the proper shapes for the “heads”. The marbles were later removed, once the green stuff had cured. Next I made leafs, stalks and teeth -basically everything that a Pirahna plant consists of.

 

For the sake of ease I painted the pipes separately. To spruce things up I added a mushroom but otherwise nothing fancy here.

The Pirahna plants themselves I added some nasty saliva but all-in-all it was a pretty straight forward paint job.

Finally, it was a terrible story about varnishing in too low a temperature, hence giving them both a horrible white frosting. It hurts too much to write of, but suffice to say I’ll never varnish spray in minus degrees again. So below is the re-painted version, painted with much angst and hopelessness. Enjoy.

       
   

One comment on “Pirahna plants

  1. Wonderful idea and execution. Sorry to read about the varnish mishap. Nevertheless, I fidn the paintjob very good and this definitly has a Super Mario vibe to it.

Leave a Reply

